Some Eye-Opening Creative Discoveries


The act of morning pages is one initially inspired by Julia Cameron in her book “The Artist’s Way.” I have personally read the book, and now that I have finished it, I can say it has left me changed from the twelve weeks of exercises for creative recovery. When I first embarked on the journey, I didn’t expect it to reach such deep, psychological parts of me that I didn’t know clearly resulted in my creative inactivity. Memories arose of small events in middle school that led to deep-set (and wrong) ideas about myself. Above that, the 12 week program introduced a way for me to get beyond my criticizing mind and access the wiser part of me. Through my morning pages, I’ve managed to successfully see through situations and thoughts to their true nature, and get answers and directions to where I’m headed.

Although I have finished the book, one of the main lessons it’s taught me is to see past illusions of grandeur, both bad and good. I’ve always had miscalculated ideas of what things will feel like when I finally “get there.” Since these expectations are so dramatized, I am usually late to discover that I have arrived and that it is nothing I expected. More so, I expected that creative recovery would be a miraculous bursting forth, when in fact the true process of getting almost anywhere is not teleportation (though that’s how our society says it looks) but rather through determined, daily steps.

The most important thing when finishing a book that changed your life during the read, is not to let the effect die. Many of us have fabulous experiences with a book and then it goes back on the shelf and the lessons are forgotten. So when you find something in a great book, to keep it living and changing you daily, read one of its fabulous quotes daily, or in this case, doing morning pages eternally.

About drunk with magic

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Maya Joy. I am a recent graduate from the University of California: Santa Cruz. I currently reside in San Francisco, California, where I work, study and create collections of art works (among other things). I have great interest in writing, painting, drawing, reading, dancing, physics, Eastern thought, photography and more! If you have any questions feel free to email me at: mayajoyintheworld@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Book Suggestions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

