Discover The Nature of Ourselves As Creators


Click on Image

Featured on the website http://www.art-and-intellect.com comes a wonderful article on the nature of ourselves as artists. Reading through it, I found myself reading about my dual nature- being both a childlike artist playing from my unconscious and a critical artisan making conscious efforts towards success. Having both these parts of my character, I am often frustrated and confused and now I finally know why: Dorothea Brande, author of “Becoming A Writer,” clearly states: “most of the methods of training the conscious side of the writer – the craftsman and critic in him – are actually hostile to the good of the unconscious, the artist’s side; and the converse of this proposition is likewise true.” But, Brande has a solution to this contradictory despair of an artist who has not integrated their character.

“When I first read this chapter, I thought it simple and short but as I collected the information into this lesson, the truth behind our despair and confusing frustration as creative individuals burst forth. In fact, this may be one of the most important chapters to digest, as it describes and enlightens the truth of our nature as writers and artists. Continue reading…

About drunk with magic

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Maya Joy. I am a recent graduate from the University of California: Santa Cruz. I currently reside in San Francisco, California, where I work, study and create collections of art works (among other things). I have great interest in writing, painting, drawing, reading, dancing, physics, Eastern thought, photography and more! If you have any questions feel free to email me at: mayajoyintheworld@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Advice For Artists, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

