Relax With Lavender!


Click on Image

Yesterday, I had the urge to go through my clothes and try to gather a large enough amount to donate. As I was trying to decide which to keep which to throw away I came upon a sweater; something grey, knitted, with large buttons, that I’ve had for quite possibly 5 years. As always, I stared at it waiting for a conviction of “YES! Keep it!” or “No, throw it away.” Nothing came so I did something I normally don’t do: I checked the tag (no, not to see the brand name) but to see what it was made of. 100% acrylic. And then a thought jumped in my head didn’t I recently read something about how non-natural fabrics aren’t as good for your skin? 

So I put the sweater in the “throw away” pile and went searching for that article:  “L’Occitane gives 25 quick tips to relieve stress and calm the senses.” It is a short concise article of a variety of tips for creating a relaxing lifestyle, exercise, evening habits and a positive attitude. Amongst the many tips were ones that I already partake it, others I’d like to start doing, and few surprises!

First, I realized I’d been spelling “lavender” wrong, so that was a good correction. I already partake in some of the tips during my morning habits of writing, drinking tea and listening to relaxing or low-key music. I also almost always keep my phone on vibrate, which is quite non-intrusive, and I try to take walks in the morning, which has the added plus of taking some wonderful pictures!

Among the tips I want to introduce to my life are: pampering, power naps and days off for myself (I tend to be addicted to productivity and too frugal to pay for a massage), eat chocolate (YES), do a little bit of yoga everyday, keep a gratitude journal, acquire some lavender soaps and buy flowers more often! These are some of my personal choices, what are yours?

There were also a few tips that surprised me, like drinking a glass of milk before bed and doing origami. Check out the list for yourself or buy some of your own lavender products!

And thank you L’Occitane for your great relaxing tips!

About drunk with magic

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Maya Joy. I am a recent graduate from the University of California: Santa Cruz. I currently reside in San Francisco, California, where I work, study and create collections of art works (among other things). I have great interest in writing, painting, drawing, reading, dancing, physics, Eastern thought, photography and more! If you have any questions feel free to email me at: mayajoyintheworld@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Advice For Artists, Product Suggestions, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

