The Imperfection of Process


It was 6 or 7 years ago and I was in San Francisco, with my high school CSF class at the SFMOMA. It was the first real art museum I had been to (that I remember) and I was starstruck. Having seen photographs of famous paintings in art class throughout highschool, I was finally seeing them in person. And the closer I got to the paintings, the more the magic was unmasked, which was even more exciting!

Until then, these paintings seemed unreal, far away, something no human could have done. Seeing them in person, the cracks, the brushstrokes, the tiny dots of color that seem simple and meaningless but from farther away turn into the tiny catch of light on an eye- it was the first time I realized that humans painted them, that could paint like that, maybe. More than that, I realized that paintings may seem perfect from far away, but close up, they are just a conglomeration of imperfections. This realization is what allowed  the possibility of becoming a painter to enter into my mind.

It was vital for me to discover the imperfection of paintings and even deeper than that- the imperfection of process. This youtube video group titled: “Process of Painting Large Canvas” documents the process of creating a finished painting. Oftentimes at the beginning of a painting, it is ugly, non-representational, and looks nothing like the end product. Rarely does the painter know exactly where it will end up, but even rarer, of the millions or just hundreds of people that see a finished painting, none of them will know the process it went through to becoming that “perfect image.”

I want to expose just one of these processes out of millions to show you “the imperfect childhood of a painting.”

About drunk with magic

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Maya Joy. I am a recent graduate from the University of California: Santa Cruz. I currently reside in San Francisco, California, where I work, study and create collections of art works (among other things). I have great interest in writing, painting, drawing, reading, dancing, physics, Eastern thought, photography and more! If you have any questions feel free to email me at: mayajoyintheworld@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

