Art of Graffiti


I took my first Art of Graffiti class at 1AM Gallery in San Francisco. Nate1 was an excellent teacher, providing some history, teaching graffiti writing, giving a mural walk and topping it off with some spray practice. I had no idea it was so fun!
I added to the mural with my “M” (in the top left) and am still perfecting my own graffiti initials with some 3-D effects and proper shading.

It was the perfect introductory class to build some graffiti appreciation and open myself up to a new art form and style. I’ve only just started to dive in but I’m interested in how writing and urban art will be influencing my work in the future. It’s something I’ve never dabbled in before, and you know how fun it is to see yourself try something new!
Plus, I found out about the secret love story behind the history of graffiti… read more.

About drunk with magic

Bonjour! Je m’appelle Maya Joy. I am a recent graduate from the University of California: Santa Cruz. I currently reside in San Francisco, California, where I work, study and create collections of art works (among other things). I have great interest in writing, painting, drawing, reading, dancing, physics, Eastern thought, photography and more! If you have any questions feel free to email me at: mayajoyintheworld@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Advice For Artists and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art of Graffiti

  1. Pingback: Day 113 photo- murals « Kay-Kay's Bird Club…

  2. This is so cool! I have always wanted to learn about graffiti

Leave a Reply

